ECWD Consortium

The Local Elected Officials (LEO) from each of the nine counties of the Eastern Carolina Local Area namely Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico and Wayne comprise the Eastern Carolina Workforce DevelopmentĀ Consortium. The Consortium has designated the Eastern Carolina Workforce Development Board, Inc. to receive the WIOA Title I funds. However, it still retains its fiscal responsibility over these funds and has the option to designate another entity to receive the grant. In addition to its fiscal responsibility, the individual counties of the consortium make appointments and elect the members of the Workforce Development Board (WDB). The relationship between the LEO and the WDB is critical in establishing the local vision, providing leadership, agreeing on performance measures for the local workforce system and conducting on-going oversight of the local boardā€™s activities. The LEO also serves as liaison to the other local elected officials and in a broker role among state/local policy-makers or one-stop partners.

In conjunction with the local board, the LEOs will connect with the Governor and the NCWorks Commission on rapid response issues and negotiate performance measures. The following Chief Elected Officials (CEO), or their designee, make up the Eastern Carolina Workforce Development Consortium:

Carteret County

Craven County

Duplin County

Greene County

Jones County

Lenoir County

Onslow County

Pamlico County

Wayne County